Super typhoon 'Lando' (Koppu) downs power supply in North, South Luzon provinces
By Juzel L. Danganan

MANILA, Oct. 18 (PNA) -- Typhoon 'Lando' has incurred power outages in ten provinces located in North and South Luzon, the country's grid-operator National Grid Corporation of the Philippines (NGCP) said.

In a statement Sunday, NGCP reported the provinces that had power interruptions due to typhoon "Lando" are: La Union, Pangasinan, Aurora, Cagayan, Isabela, Nueva Ecija, Zambales, Tarlac, Quezon and Batangas.

For La Union, the areas that lost electricity are Naguilian, Burgos, Bagulin and parts of Bauang and San Fernando City. It covers the franchise of La Union Electric Cooperatives Inc. (LUELCO).

For Pangasinan, the damage was severe as three electric cooperatives (ECs) lost power, namely, Pangasinan Electric Cooperatives Inc. 1 (PANELCO 1), Pangasinan Electric Cooperatives Inc. 3 (PANELCO 3) and Central Pangasinan Electric Cooperatives Inc. (CENPELCO).

The franchise area of the ECs are: part of Urdaneta City, part of Asingan, Villasis, Rosales, Balungao, Sto. Tomas, Sta. Maria, Tayug, San Nicolas, Natividad, Umingan, San Quintin, Alcaia, Bautista, Bayambang, Basista, part of Malasiqui, Bugallon, Lingayen, Binmaley, San Carlos City, Malasigui, Urbiztondo, Mangatarem, Aguilar, part of Batista (Pangasinan), Labrador, Sual, part of Lingayen, Alaminos and Mabini.

For Cagayan, the sole EC that was affected is Cagayan Electric Cooperatives Inc. 2 (CAGELCO 2), which covers Magapit, Sta. Teresita, Gonzaga, Sta. Ana and CEZA.

Isabela, on the other hand, had two ECs hit by the typhoon. The cooperatives are Isabela Electric Cooperatives 1 (ISELCO I) and ISELCO 2, which powers the towns of Reina Mercedes, Benito Soliven, Naguilian, San Mariano, Ilagan, Gamu, parts of Cauayan and Burgos.

In Nueva Ecija, the damage was also severe as many areas were also hit, namely Gen. Tinio, Penaranda, San Leonardo, Sta. Rosa, Fort Magsaysay, Natividad, Llanera, Palayan, Bongabon, Gabaldon, Laur, Rizal, Talavera, San Isidro, San Roque, Sapang Jaen and Gapan.

The ECs covering the areas are Nueva Ecija Electric Cooperatives 1 (NEECO 1), NEECO 2-A1, NEECO 2-A2, GIPACS and ECOSIP.

For Aurora, the areas that lost power due to the typhoon's impact are Dingalan, Dipaculao, Ma. Aurora, San Luis and Baler.

In Zambales, the power outaged areas Consort Land Inc., Subic, and Castillejos.

For Tarlac, the affected areas are: Paniqui, Camiling, San Jose, Gerona, Sta. Ignacia, Moncada and Victoria. It is covered by the Tarlac Electric Cooperatives Inc. 1 (TARELCO 1).

Quezon was also badly hit by the typhoon, bringing brownouts to more than 13 areas, which are Real, Infanta, Gen. Nakar, Famy, Pakil, Hondagua, Calauag, Alabat Is., Phil. Flour Mills, Tagkawayan, Del Gallego, Guinayangan and Sta. Elena. The ECs involved are Quezon Electric Cooperatives 1 (QUEZELCO 1), QUEZELCO 2 and FLECO.

In Batangas, businesses were mostly affected: AG&P, BHPI, KEPPEL, Coastal Bay, Batelec 2, BBTI, EEI and BMEG.

NGCP stressed the power outage was either caused by its transmission facilities or the distribution facilities of the ECs.

The grid operator stressed it has available materials to repair the damages to its transmission facilities and its line crews are placed in strategic positions to facilitate immediate restoration work. (PNA)

 © 2015