President Aquino signs laws creating more Trial Court branches

MANILA, Dec. 17 (PNA) -- President Benigno S. Aquino III has signed into laws five bills creating additional branches in the country's trial courts.

Republic Act (RA) No. 10711 creates five more branches of the Regional Trial Court (RTC) and five additional branches of the Metropolitan Trial Court to be stationed in Pasay City in the National Capital Judicial Region.

RA No. 10712 creates an additional branch of the RTC to be stationed in Sorsogon City, Sorsogon Province in the 5th Judicial Region.

The National Capital Judicial Region will have three more RTC branches to be stationed in Parañaque City, Metro Manila, with the implementation of RA No. 10713.

RA 10714 creates one more RTC branch to be stationed in Vigan City, Ilocos Sur Province in the 1st Judicial Region, while RA No. 10715 creates three additional RTC branches in Bacolod City, Negros Occidental Province in the 6th Judicial Region.

The new laws, which were signed by President Aquino last Dec. 9, amend Sections 14 and 27 of Batas Pambansa Bilang 129, otherwise known as "The Judiciary Reorganization Act of 180", and all other laws, executive orders, and rules and regulations that are inconsistent with the new laws.

The Supreme Court will assign the respective numbers of the newly created branches.

The Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, in coordination with the Secretary of the Department of Justice, shall include in its program the funds necessary for the operation of the additional courts.

The funds shall be included in the annual General Appropriations Act. (PNA)

 © 2015