DOST awards two schools as best implementers of inquiry-based science lessons

QUEZON CITY, Dec. 20 -- The Science Education Institute (SEI) of the Department of Science and Technology (DOST) named Taguig Integrated School and CP Sta. Teresa Elementary School as two of the Most Promising School for Implementers of Project HOTS or Hands on Teaching and Learning of Science.

Project HOTS is a professional development program of SEI which aims to enable teachers to design and develop science lessons incorporating an inquiry-based activity, facilitate an inquiry-based activity, and improve the lesson based on pupil’s response or lesson study. It is a means to change the focus of teaching from a teacher-centered classroom to one that is student-centered.

The two schools emerged as winners among 10 participating schools in a three-day Seminar-Workshop on Development of Inquiry-based Science Lessons conducted by SEI in the Taguig City-Pateros Division in May 2015.

Two teachers from each school participated in the said seminar. At the start of the schoolyear, the teachers collaborated in developing lessons based on what they learned from the workshop. During the lesson implementation of the first teacher, the other teacher observed and noted the students’ response. The teachers then discussed how the lesson was received by the students and revised the lesson based on their observations. The revised lesson was implemented by the second teacher. After the second implementation and post-lesson discussion, the teachers finalized the lesson. The second cycle of the same lesson would start again next year.

Representatives from SEI and University of the Philippines-National Institute of Science and Mathematics Education Development observed how the teachers implemented inquiry-based lessons in their schools.

The two most promising schools received a laptop, projector, all-in-one printer, and a pocket WiFi from SEI as an incentive.

Other schools from the Taguig-Pateros Division which participated in the program were Bagong Tanyag Elementary School-Main, Daanghari Elementary School, Enlisted Men’s Signal Village Elementary School, Maharlika Elementary School, Kapitan Eddie Reyes Memorial Elementary School –Main, Pateros Elementary School, Silangan Elementary School, and Tipas Elementary School. (DOST)

 © 2015